April 1st – Lune

So this is my attempt at writing a Lune, well, more accurately a series of Lunes. I got the idea from Carol Ann Duffy’s piece ‘Drams’, which uses Haiku to form stanzas. Here’s a link to the piece in case anyone wants to take a look.

I took a line from one of my favourite Shakespeare plays and used that as a basis before really hammering out the poem. It is a lot harder than it looks, especially when using the syllable-count variant as opposed to word-count. Anyway, here’s my first poem of the month:

Making The Beast With Two Backs

We exist as one,
as if to
commit osmosis –

To link our fingers
and adhere;
antithesis of

“God’s work” – a kind of
monster that
could only love by

itself. A sentence
perfect for
the likes of us – come

closer to me, love.
We’ll combine
and watch the fires light

themselves around us,
wanting to
kill; to keep us warm.

4 comments

  1. maria · April 1, 2016

    Beautiful!

    Like

  2. PoojaG · April 1, 2016

    I love Othello and it’s probably one of my favourite Shakespeare plays. Love the poem it was so good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

